Click here to receive updates about new books and appearances.

Learn More About... WHILE WE WERE WATCHING DOWNTON ABBEY

 
 
 

“What do you get when you mix one dashing British concierge with three lonely women from diverse backgrounds, set them all in a historic apartment building in Midtown Atlanta, then turn on the television? What you get, actually, is quite a clever, fun little novel. And could Wendy Wax be any more clever naming it While We Were Watching Downton Abbey? That title alone is reason enough to pick up the book and see what the heck is going on.” —Craig Wilson, USA Today

“While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is a tribute to the transformative power of female friendship, and reading Wendy Wax is like discovering a witty, wise, and wonderful new friend.” —Claire Cook, bestselling author of Must Love Dogs and Time Flies

“Wax breaks from her Ten Beach Road series to indulge her obsession with the popular British television show Downton Abbey in her latest novel . . . [her] trendy premise makes for a surprisingly poignant and enjoyable story about friendship. Readers need not be fans of the show to enjoy this tale, but they may relate more to the characters’ infatuation if they are.” Booklist

“In the style of Karen Joy Fowler’s “The Jane Austen Book Club,” Wendy Wax’s novel follows the story of three women who live in the same Atlanta apartment building and form a bond through a common love of all things Downton Abbey . . . engrosses its reader in the drama of these women’s love lives and emotional struggles. Perhaps most refreshing is that the resolution for each woman comes not from "finding a man," but in finding themselves and strengthening each other through an unexpected sisterhood.” Deseret News

“You needn’t be a fan of Downton Abbey to enjoy While We Were Watching [Downton Abbey] . . the show . . . [is an] excuse to create a realistic friendship of such depth and strength, even the Dowager Duchess would approve.” RT Book Reviews

“Whether you love Downton Abbey or not, you’ll fall in love with these characters.” —Working Mother

“Wendy Wax’s fresh approach to an entertaining story line hooks us with the idea that other things could happen ‘while we were watching “Downton Abbey.” ’ It is hard to imagine that other lives, besides [Downton Abbey’s] . . . would catch our attention. But they do . . . the bond of friendship and the responsibilities and rights within that bond are the heart of the novel . . . honesty in any relationship is vital, and Wax shows this truth in downtown Atlanta alongside the engrossing story of ‘Downton Abbey.’’ —Book Reporter

“Are you and your friends still discussing the fate of poor Matthew on the last episode of Downton Abbey? Then you’ll no doubt identify with . . . Wendy Wax’s While We Were Watching Downton Abbey . . . Fans of Wax’s Ten Beach Road and Ocean Beach know Wax knows what breaks and makes friendships.” —Nancy Pate, On A Clear Day I Can Read Forever

“‘While We Were Watching Downton Abbey’, really pulled me in . . . This is a really fun read and I highly recommend it.” —Night Owl Reviews

While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is a delightful novel of unexpected friendships and bonds. Downton Abbey first brings the characters together, but it’s not what keeps them together. Similarly, I read this novel because of the Downton Abbey connection, but I ended up enjoying it for its own characters.” —nomadreader

“If you’re a fan of the highly popular PBS British drama, Downton Abbey, you will love Wax’s latest novel . . . This warm and charming novel about struggling to redefine yourself will be your perfect escape this spring break.” —Lisa Steinke, She Knows

While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is a grand, well-paced contemporary read definitely deserving to be on the best seller list!!! Great writing!” —Crystal Reviews

“I love how Wendy really has her pulse on women’s friendships and real-life situations. I felt that I could have sat down with these three characters on any given Sunday evening and left with life-long friends!” —Life in the Thumb

“Gifted author Wendy Wax introduces her readers to a bevy of entertaining characters and a decidedly different plot set in an extraordinary apartment building. Readers will immediately relate to the women in WHILE WE WERE WATCHING DOWNTON ABBY as soul sisters. Wax has an incredible knack for taking vulnerable looking characters and developing them into women with hidden strengths. And jumping on the popular Downton Abby craze is ingenious and fun, exactly like her book. Five stars for this delightful read, WHILE WE WERE WATCHING DOWNTON ABBY by Wendy Wax!” —Single Titles

“Wax excels at using humor, bits of local color, and multiple, complex female protagonists, and she uses all of these to good effect here . . . I also loved, as I typically do with Wax’s novels, the memorable lines that say a great deal in a sentence or two . . . If you like women’s fiction that makes you smile, warms your heart, and reminds you why friendship matters, this book is definitely one you will enjoy.” —Just Janga

“Beautifully drawn, the true-to-life characters felt like people I wanted to know. I couldn’t stop turning the pages to see what would happen next, and even as I finished, I definitely wanted to read more about them . . . a complex story of human flaws and foibles and the bonds that develop between people, sustaining them through the tough times. Five stars.” —Curl Up and Read

“I would love to sit down and join in with these ladies - and Edward - when they have their pizza and wine nights.” —Dew on the Kudzu

“What do you get when you put together Downton Abbey, the American South, three women, and an attractive concierge? Gold. Pure plot gold . . . Wax has brought together the drama of the show with a modern life take of women who are going through dramas of their own . . . I highly recommend this book to all fans of great and witty fiction.” —Book Addict Katie

“I thought the premise of this book was very interesting because of the Downton Abbey angle but the book is about so much more than the show . . . I enjoyed While We Were Watching Downton Abbey . . . I only wish I could live atthe Alexander and be part of the club!” —Reading Extensively

“I devoured this novel in a couple of days. I love novels that explore the rich relationships of women. I enjoyed getting to know all the characters and was curious to find out how everything would work out for them. In addition, the nods to Downton Abbey made me smile, reminding why I love the show and easing the loss as I await season 4.” —5 Minutes for Books

“A story that has characters with complexity and secrets, moments of utter embarrassment and sheer frivolity . . . their story is just as enchanting and transfixing as the one on the screen.” —I Am, Indeed

“As an avid, borderline obsessive fan of Downton Abbey, I knew I had to read this book . . . just like the show, this book had so much charm that it was impossible to put down . . . heart warming . . . the concierge Edward adds a British charm that you can’t help but smile at. If you’re looking for a light, fun read . . .I’d definitely recommend picking this one up . . . charming . . . bound to touch the heart of anyone who reads it.” —Peace, Love, Books

“A true-to-life fiction tale of living life and building relationships . . . Wax creatively pulls together each character’s issues and connects it to the lives on the show. It is more than just a fun read or refreshing—it is just plain GOOD!” — From the Nightstand

“Beautifully drawn, the true-to-life characters felt like people I wanted to know. I couldn’t stop turning the pages to see what would happen next, and even as I finished, I definitely wanted to read more about them. Perhaps in a sequel. While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is a complex story of human flaws and foibles and the bonds that develop between people, sustaining them through the tough times. Five stars!” —Rainy Days & Mondays

“I thoroughly enjoyed the backgrounds of each individual . . . I absolutely fell in love with Edward. I recommend this book to those who loved Downtown Abbey as well as those who haven’t watched the show . . . if you like books about friendships, hurdles in life, a little romance, starting over again, finding love, keeping it, along with a touch of humor, I think you’ll enjoy this book. I certainly did.” —A Reader’s Journal

“This book has everything that Wax does so well mazing character development, humor and shows the depth of female friendships. Again, Wax has knocked it out of the park. And, I must say that Edward the concierge is so like Carson in Downton Abbey.” —Great Thoughts

“I was sent this book to review and I loved it. This book shows the value of friendship and how something like a tv show can bring different people together that wouldn’t have met otherwise . . .This was a new author to me and I highly recommend this book and this author to anyone who wants a book keeps you reading no matter the hour.”
—As the Page Turns

Browse Wendy's Books

 

Home ~ About Wendy ~ Books ~ Join Mailing List ~ Site/Copyright
Web Maintenance & Hosting by Writerspace.com